Tuesday, November 14, 2017
CONDITIONAL DISCHARGE TO DISMISS MUNICIPAL COURT DRUG CHARGES for first time offenders Middlesex, Piscataway, South Plainfield, Edison, Metuchen, Woodbridge, Perth Amboy, Carteret, Highland Park, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, Milltown, East Brunswick, South River, Sayreville, South Amboy, Old Bridge, Spotswood, South Brunswick, Plainsboro, Cranbury, Monroe, Jamesburg, Monmouth, Union, Somerset, Mercer, Ocean, Essex, Hunterdon, Burlington, county, NJ, New Jersey
CONDITIONAL DISCHARGE TO DISMISS MUNICIPAL COURT DRUG CHARGES for first time offenders Middlesex,
By Kenneth Vercammen, Certifed Municicpal Court Attorney
The defense of a person charged with possession of drugs or drug paraphernalia is not impossible. Attorneys should not merely suggest that their client plead guilty to save a few dollars. There are a number of viable defenses and arguments which can be pursued to achieve a successful result. Advocacy, commitment, and persistence are essential to defending a client accused of involvement with controlled dangerous substances (CDS). More info at
The Municipal Courts of New Jersey have jurisdiction to hear the following drug-related offenses:
NJSA 2C:5-10(a)(4), possession of 50g or less of marijuana or 5g or less of hashish;
NJSA 2C:35-10(b), using or being under the influence of CDS;
NJSA 2C:35-10(c), failure to deliver CDS to police;
NJSA 2C:36-2, possession of drug paraphernalia
Violation of these statutes constitute disorderly person offenses. If convicted, the court may impose a $500.00 Drug Enforcement Reduction penalty and a $50.00 lab fee for each CDS charge. The court has discretion to fine a defendant up to $1,000 and/or incarceration for up to six months. The $50.00 VCCB penalty also must be imposed.
Moreover, the court must suspend the defendants drivers license for a time period between six months and two years. In addition, probation for up to two years, drug counseling, periodic urine testing, alcohol and/or psychiatric counseling and community service may be imposed.
If you elect to initially plead not guilty, your attorney will send a discovery letter/letter of representation to both the Municipal Prosecutor and the Municipal Court Clerk. If you have a drug problem, it is recommended that you attend a substance abuse treatment programs to seek help for any addiction. Proof of attendance of such a program is of benefit at sentencing or in obtaining an application for conditional discharge.
The defense attorney can make a Motion, upon notice to the prosecutor and subject to 2C:36A‑1(c) for first offenders to suspend further proceedings and place the defendant on supervisory treatment (i.e., probation, supervised or unsupervised attendance at Narcotics Anonymous, etc.). This is Motion For Conditional Discharge. Since the granting of a Conditional Discharge is optional with the court, defense counsel should be prepared to prove, through letters, documents, or even witnesses, that the defendant's continued presence in the community or in a civil treatment program, will not pose a danger to the community.
Defense counsel should be prepared to convince the court that the terms and conditions of supervisory treatment will be adequate to protect the public and will benefit the defendant by serving to correct any dependence on or use of controlled substances. For applicable caselaw on Conditional Discharges, see State v Sanders N.J. Super 515 (App. Div. 1979), State v Banks 157 N.J. Super. 442 (Law Div. 1978), State v Grochulski 133 NJ Super 586 (Law Div. 1975), State v Teitelbaum. 160 NJ Super 450 (Law Div. 1978), State v Bush 134 NJ Super 346 (Cty Ct 1975), State v DiLuzio 130 NJ Super 220 (Law Div. 1974).
The defendant must pay a $45.00 application fee, plus the mandatory $500.00 DEDR penalty. The court further has the option to suspend a defendant's driver's license for between six months and two years.
The Conditional Discharge period is also between one year and two years. If the defendant is convicted of a drug offense during the CD period or violates the conditions set by the court, the prosecution resumes. The defendant may even apply for a conditional discharge after he/she is found guilty, but before sentence is imposed. If the CD is granted at this point in the proceeding, the 6 to 24 month license suspension is mandatory.
Narcotics and Drug related offenses carry substantial penalties which will effect your client for the rest of his life. The space limits of this article do not allow detailed explanation of the extensive caselaw on Narcotics. Drug law and other defenses are explained in greater details in other articles on www.njlaws.com.
KENNETH VERCAMMEN & ASSOCIATES, PC
ATTORNEY AT LAW
2053 Woodbridge Ave.
Edison, NJ 08817
Copyright 2018 Vercammen Law Piscataway,
Monmouth, Union, Somerset, Mercer, Ocean, Essex, Hunterdon, Burlington, county, NJ, New Jersey